BIOPageTopPic-V2.jpg (8113 bytes)

Keewatin Region: Arviat / Baker Lake & Rankin Inlet | Nunavut Map | Return

Keewatin Region: one of three regions of the terriory of Nunavut.
The other two are Kitikmeot and Baffin.

The main art producing communities in the Region are:

Baker Lake is the only inland community in Canada's Arctic. It is famous for its large, heavy and dynamic carvings of hunters and animals, fashioned from the hard keewatin stone. Although essentially realistic in conception, these works are not detailed but are more roughly conceived in broad curves and large masses with few fine details. The musk-ox is a favourite subject, especially among male carvers who are also hunters. Female artists are more likely to produce smaller, more delicate sentimental depictions of mothers and children. Scenes of animal-human transformations are also common in Baker Lake sculpture, as they are in prints made in this community. 
pp-redarrow.gif (123 bytes) see About Baker Lake

The stone of Arviat (formerly Eskimo Point) is probably the least naturalistic of all Inuit art, with little surface elegance or detail. While work from this community may appear crude to some, it has considerable emotional power. As the local steatite is quite hard, most artist employ considerable economy of line. By far the most common subjects are family or maternal scenes. In contrast, antler carvings from this community are whimsical, portraying birds and other animals, games and hunting scenes. Like many works in antler from other Inuit communities, they have great folk art appeal.  
pp-pp-redarrow.gif (123 bytes) see About Arviat

Rankin Inlet artists work in the hard grey to black keewatin stone, or in ivory. Like Iqaluit, Rankin Inlet is a regional centre and its art is varied. Several styles of sculpture exist, ranging from rough, simple delineation of form to abstraction and stylization, to strict naturalism.